A well-established, mixed-voice choir based in North Oxford

Because of the coronavirus, the choir had its last rehearsal on Thursday 12 March. We have also cancelled our concert of French music planned for 6 June. We will amend this Home page when we are able to be active as a choir again.

Our next planned concert is now on 23 January 2021, when we will be performing Brahms’ Ein Deutsches Requiem, accompanied once more by Instruments of Time and Truth. Rehearsals for this will start – all being well – on Thursday 10 September.

We rehearse regularly on Thursday evenings, 8-9.30pm, at St Michael’s Church, Lonsdale Road, Oxford. All voice parts and abilities are welcome. There is no audition. For more details of the concert and the choir, see our Join Us and The Choir pages. If you are interested in a cappella singing, also look at the Summertown Singers pages.

For details of past performances, including a number of commissions, see our Concert History and Archives pages.

If you would like to receive updates by email about future Summertown Choral Society concerts and events, please join our mailing list, or connect with us on facebook.


  • 6th Jun 2020
  • French Romantic Choral Music (NOW CANCELLED)
    • 6th June 2020 7:30 PM
    • St Andrew's Church, Oxford
    Paris in the late 19th and early 20th century was a golden age of music. Many of the greatest French composers were outstanding organists: Fauré and Saint-Saëns worked at l’Église de la Madeleine; Vierne was assistant to Charles-Marie Widor at Saint-Sulpice before becoming organist of Notre-Dame de Paris


  • 1st Feb 2020
  • Bach: B minor Mass with Instruments of Time and Truth
    • 1st February 2020 7:30 PM
    • St Andrew's Church, Oxford
    The Mass in B minor is Bach's only complete setting of the Mass and, though we hear it now as one unified work standing in its own right, Bach did not write it as such. Only towards the end of his life, probably around 1748-9, did he bring together earlier compositions into the one complete work.
  • 15th Jun 2019
  • Event Poster
    Schubert Mass in E♭
    • 15th June 2019 7:30 PM
    • St Andrew's Church, Oxford
    One Morning in Spring Three Folksongs from Oxfordshire Arrangement Grayston Ives (world premiere) Isis Chamber Orchestra Louise Wayman, soprano Stephen Burrows, counter-tenor Edward Woodhouse, tenor Jack Granby, tenor Julian Littlewood, piano
    Skin Color
    Layout Options
    Layout patterns
    Boxed layout images
    header topbar
    header color
    header position